Christmas Break Book Recommendations

Back to Article
Back to Article

Christmas Break Book Recommendations

Mia Hernandez, Reporter

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.


Email This Story






My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

If you haven’t already read this tear jerking classic for summer reading, Christmas break is a great time to catch up. Author Jodi Picoult tells the story of a young girl named Anna who was born to be the marrow donor for her cancer afflicted sister, Kate. Upon turning thirteen, Anna wishes to sue her parents for medical emancipation (full control over medical procedures done to one’s body). This book weaves together the complex structure of family life and the longing for independence and is sure to make you shed a tear.

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari and Eric Klinenberg

Fans of Parks and Recreation are sure to enjoy this funny novel written by Aziz Ansari and sociologist Eric Klinenberg. This book discusses the craziness of modern dating while maintaining light and witty humor. It includes real data and true accounts of absurd and comical encounters on online dating sites and apps. Ansari brings his trademark comedy to the new reality of technology in relationships and will be a relatable read to anyone who has speculated on the meaning of a certain emoji.

Americanah by Chimamanda Adichie  

Chimamanda Adichie centers her story around a strong female character who struggles with her identity after her move to the United States. The novel follows two Nigerians, Ifemelu and Obinze, who leave their home country to live in America and England, respectively. Both of them must deal with their own black identity and how they fit into the Western world. Centered around a person of color’s growth and self acceptance, this novel is sure to empower and inspire.    

Who Do You Love by Jennifer Weiner

If you want to spend break curling up with a cup of hot chocolate and reading a good love story, Who Do You Love is the perfect book for you. After a chance meeting in the ER, Rachel and Andy form a connection that seems to span distance and time. Over the course of their separate lives, the pair are reunited again and again. Will their love recurrent obstacles and stand the test of time? You’ll have to read to find out.  

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

Recently debuting on the big screen starring Emily Blunt, The Girl on the Train is a psychological thriller that will keep you turning pages until 2 am. On Rachel’s routine commute by train, she grows accustomed to watching the same couple eat breakfast together. Until one day, instead of witnessing normality, she sees something shocking. After reporting what she saw to the authorities, Rachel gets deeply involved with the investigation.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email